Towards Guidelines on Government Formation: Facilitating Openness & Transparency in Canada's Governance

05/31/2012

Cette dernière année, le Forum des politiques publiques a lancé l’initiative Formation d’un gouvernement au Canada pour étudier l’utilité éventuelle d’élaborer des lignes directrices pour préciser les rôles et responsabilités des principaux intervenants pendant les élections et juste après. On s’est penché sur le rôle de la Couronne, des élus, des hauts-fonctionnaires, des médias d’information et du grand public dans ces circonstances.  

Il ressort du rapport que ces lignes directrices devraient être accessibles à tous et « fondées sur des principes », l’objectif étant de préciser les rôles, responsabilités et conventions qui sont au centre du processus.

Le rapport est une synthèse de deux tables rondes et d’une série d’entrevues avec d’anciens gouverneurs généraux, des hauts commissaires au Canada, d’anciens greffiers du Conseil privé, des dirigeants d’équipes de transition, des universitaires et des membres des médias d’information.

 

Lisez la publication *disponible en anglais seulement

 

Pour plus de renseignements veuillez contacter:
Hala Domlodge
Adjointe au président-directeur général et secrétaire du conseil d’administration
(613) 238-7858 ext. 226
hala.domloge@ppforum.ca

Towards Guidelines on Government Formation: Facilitating Openness & Transparency in Canada's Governance

05/31/2012

Over the past year, the Public Policy Forum launched the Government Formation in Canada initiative to explore the possible utility of developing Canadian guidelines that clearly outline the roles and responsibilities of key stakeholders during and immediately following an election.  The study looked at the role of the Crown, elected representatives, senior public servants, the news media and the general public under such circumstances.

This report makes the case that such guidelines should be publicly-accessible and “principles-based” with the goal of clearly outlining the relevant roles, responsibilities and conventions that are central to the process.

The report synthesizes the findings of two roundtable discussions and a series of interviews with former Governors General, High Commissioners to Canada, former Clerks of the Privy Council, transition team leaders, scholars and members of the news media.

 

 

For further information, please contact:

James McLean
Research Associate
Public Policy Forum
james.mclean@ppforum.ca