International Forum on R&D

When: Monday, September 12, 2011 - 07:30 - Tuesday, September 13, 2011 - 08:00

Where: Hamilton, ON

Research universities must position themselves to seize the opportunities and respond to the challenges related to internationalization and globalization. They must increase their international vision and capitalize on their strong foundation of research to compete with growing and emerging markets. In this global economy, their role in economic development is critical and is being put to use in domestic markets, but how do they leverage this activity to compete effectively on the global stage? And how do they increase their market share of international R&D projects and help their country to meet their human resource needs in a knowledge-based society?

For more information please contact Dianne Gravel-Normand.

Forum participants included:

Forum Speakers

  • Pierre Bilodeau, Vice-President, International Science & Technology Partnerships Canada (ISTP Canada)
  • Afonso J. Sena Cardoso, Consul General, Consulate General of Brazil
  • Patrick Deane, President & Vice Chancellor of McMaster University
  • Sean Donnelly , Vice President Technology and Continuous Improvement, ArcelorMittal Dofasco
  • Nicolas Duhaut, University Cooperation Attaché to the French Embassy in Canada
  • Mo Elbestawi, Vice-President,Research & International Affairs, McMaster University
  • Suzanne Fortier, President, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)
  • Chad Gaffield, President, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)
  • Weidong Luo, Chancellor, University of Science& Technology Beijing
  • Kevin Lynch, Vice-Chair, BMO Financial Group
  • Hadi Mahabadi, Vice President, Xerox Research Centre of Canada (XRCC)
  • The Right Honourable Paul Martin, former Prime Minister of Canada
  • Gilles G. Patry, President & CEO of Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
  • Lynton "Red" Wilson, Chancellor, McMaster University

Panelists & Moderators

  • John Abbott, CEO, Health Council of Canada
  • Don Aldridge, Industry Executive, Research & Life Sciences, IBM Canada Ltd.
  • Yeihya Alkhazraj, Director of Academic Relations, Saudi Arabian Cultural Bureau
  • Anil Arora, Assistant Deputy Minister, Natural Resources Canada
  • Jane Aubin, Chief Scientific Officer and Vice-President Research, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
  • Prakash Bharati, Director, India Science Lab, GM Global R&D, Bangalore
  • Doug Barber, Founder and former CEO & President, Gennum Inc.
  • Karen Booth, Executive Vice President, Mitacs
  • Michael Bowman, Chair & President, Delaware Technology Park, Inc.
  • Ricardo Renzo Brentani,CEO, State of São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP)
  • M.W. (Luke) Chan, Associate Vice-President, International Affairs, McMaster University
  • Arun Chockalingam, Director of Global Health, National Heart, Lung & Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Subhasis Chaudhuri, Dean of International Relations, IIT Bombay, India
  • Chris Eaton, Executive Director, World University Service Canada
  • Lorna Jean Edmonds, Executive Director (International Relations), University of Western Ontario
  • John Eyles, University Professor, McMaster University
  • Jun Fang, Counsel and Director for Education, Consulate-General, People's Republic of China in Toronto
  • Justin Gammage, Chief Scientist, General Motors Canada
  • Timothy A. Gonsalves, Director, Indian Institute of Technology Mandi
  • Michael K. Hawes, CEO, Fulbright Canada
  • Jennifer Jackman, Director, CANMET-Materials Technology Laboratory, Natural Resources Canada
  • Faiz Ahmed Khan, Dean Academic, Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad
  • Janis Koyanagi, Vice President TSX, &TSX Venture
  • William Kupferschmidt, Vice-President & General Manager, R&D, Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd.
  • John Lavis, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Knowledge Transfer and Exchange, McMaster University
  • Mark Levine, Professor and Chair, Department of Oncology, McMaster University
  • Konstantin Losev, Director, Institute of International Educational Programs, Saint-Petersburg State University of Aerospace Instrumentation, Russia
  • Susan Pitman Lowenthal, Vice President, Clinical Development and Medical Affairs, Oncology, Japan-Australia-Canada-Korea Region, Pfizer - New York
  • Hadi Mahabadi, V-P, Xerox Research Centre of Canada (XRCC), Xerox Canada
  • Tony Mancina, Director, Engineering, Chrysler Canada Automotive R & D Centre (ARDC)
  • Jean-Marc Mangin, Executive Director, Canadian Federation of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Sam Marcuson, Vice-President, Business Improvement, Vale Canada Ltd.
  • Philipp Marxgut, Director & Attaché for Science and Technology, Embassy of Austria
    Peter Mascher, Associate Dean of External Relations, Faculty of Engineering, McMaster University
  • Thom Mason, Laboratory Director , Oakridge National Laboratory
  • Pratap K.J. Mohapatra, Dean, Postgraduate Studies & Research, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  • Chandrabhas Narayana, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)
  • Leo Oswiacki, Deputy Executive Director, International Science and Technology Centre, Russia
  • Bonnie Patterson, President and CEO, Council of Ontario Universities
  • Patricio Powell, Consul General, Consul General of Chile, Toronto
  • John Preece, Acting Science & Innovation Officer, British Consulate-General, Toronto
  • Jessica Robin, Office of International Science and Engineering, National Science Foundation
  • George Ross, Deputy Minister, Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation
  • Rana Sarkar, President & CEO, Canada-India Business Council
  • Frank Saunders, Vice-President, (Nuclear Oversight and Regulatory Affairs), Bruce Power
  • Howard Shearer, President & CEO, Hitachi Canada Inc.
  • Kevin Smith, President & CEO, St. Joseph's Health System and Chair of the Board, Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
  • Byron Spencer, Director, Research Institute for Quantitative Studies in Economics and Population, McMaster University
  • Emanuele Taufer, Dean of International Relations, University of Trento
  • Christian Turquat, Scientific Attaché, Consulate General de France
  • The Honourable Tony Valeri, VP, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs, ArcelorMittalDofasco Inc.
  • Vivek Vijay, Faculty Affairs, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Rajasthan
  • Max Voegler, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), German Research Foundation, Director, DFG North America Office
  • Bob Walker, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Laboratories, Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd.
  • Bruno Wiest, Trade Commissioner (Bio-Industries, Science &Technology), The Embassy of Canada to Germany
  • Gerard Wright, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Molecular Studies of Antibiotics, and Director of the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research
  • Dezi Yang, Vice President Engineering, SNC-Lavalin Nuclear Inc
  • Wenjun Zhang, Vice President, Shanghai Jiao Tong University