24th Annual Testimonial Dinner & Awards

When: Thursday, April 28, 2011 - 17:00 - 21:15

Where: Metro Toronto Convention Centre

Each year at the Forum's Testimonial Dinner, over one thousand leaders from all sectors of Canadian society gather to pay tribute to distinguished Canadians who have made an outstanding contribution to the quality of public policy and public management in our country.

These men and women from various walks of professional life exemplify the Public Policy Forum's commitment to achieving greater understanding and cooperation between the public and private sectors to improve the quality of government in Canada. A jury appointed by the Public Policy Forum selects the honourees from among candidates nominated by Forum members.

The 24th Annual Testimonial Dinner & Awards was held on Thursday, April 28th, 2011 in Toronto.The event was co-chaired by the Honourable David Alward, Premier of New Brunswick, and Elyse Allan, President & CEO of GE Canada.

This year's honourees included the Honourable William G. Davis, Gordon M. Nixon, Monique F. Leroux, and Jim Stanford. The 2011 Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism was presented to André Picard and the 2011 Emerging Leaders Award was presented to Victor T. Thomas.


Watch now    Watch videos
Flickr     See photos


The 2011 Testimonial Dinner Co-chairs:

David Alward

Hon. David Alward
Government of New Brunswick

Read the Premier's remarks

Elyse Allan

Elyse Allan
President & CEO
GE Canada

Read Ms. Allan's remarks


The 2011 Honourees:

Hon. William G. Davis

Gordon M. Nixon

Monique F. Leroux

Jim Stanford

Hon. William G. Davis

Gordon M. Nixon

Monique F. Leroux

Jim Stanford


In addition to the honourees, two other awards were presented at the Testimonial Dinner.


Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism

André Picard  

André Picard
Public Health Reporter
The Globe & Mail

The Public Policy Forum established the Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism to celebrate the journalistic standards and intellectual integrity of the late Hyman Solomon who, as Ottawa Bureau Chief of the Financial Post, covered the complex interplay of the public and private sectors, and the intricacies of national decision-making.

Each year, the award is presented to a journalist whose work, in either official language, provides insights into the policy-making process in Canada, and explains to Canadians how changes in public policy affect their individual well-being and collective economic progress. A cash prize is also awarded.


Emerging Leaders Award

Victor Thomas  


Victor T. Thomas
Regina & District Chamber of Commerce


The Forum is eager to play a role in encouraging young Canadians to become involved in the public policy process and the public arena. This may include participation in social enterprises and/or initiatives which contribute to public engagement and good governance.

In 2005, the Public Policy Forum established an annual award for emerging leaders to recognize the contributions of young Canadians who personify leadership in the area of public policy and civic discourse. Recipients of the Emerging Leaders Award are in the early stages of their career and demonstrate exceptional initiative and commitment to the principles of public service. This annual award is sponsored by TD Bank Group.


For more information, please visit the Testimonial Dinner page.

For further information, please contact Kelly Cyr.


Our sponsors:


CN Generak Electric Canada Globe & Mail

Manulife Financial

Porter RBC RIM TD Union Gas