23rd Annual Testimonial Dinner & Awards

When: Thursday, April 29, 2010 - 17:00 - 21:00

Where: Metro Toronto Convention Centre

The 23rd Annual Testimonial Dinner & Awards was held on April 29, 2010 in Toronto. The event was co-chaired by The Honourable Darrell Dexter, Premier of Nova Scotia, and Chantal Hébert, Political Columnist, The Toronto Star.

This years honourees included Phil Fontaine, Carole Taylor, Tony Dean and Preston Manning. The 2010 Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism was presented to Bernard Derome and the 2010 Emerging Leaders Award was presented to Gabriel Bran Lopez.


Watch now    Watch videos
   See photos


The 2010 Testimonial Dinner Co-chairs:

Hon. Darrell Dexter
Premier of Nova Scotia

Chantal Hébert
Political Columnist
The Toronto Star


The 2010 Honourees:

Tony Dean

Preston Manning

Phil Fontaine

Carol Taylor

Tony Dean

Preston Manning

Phil Fontaine

Carole Taylor

In addition to the honourees, two other awards were presented at the Testimonial Dinner.


2010 Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism:

Bernard Derome

Bernard Derome
Former Host, Le Téléjournal

The Public Policy Forum established the Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism to celebrate the journalistic standards and intellectual integrity of the late Hyman Solomon who, as Ottawa Bureau Chief of the Financial Post, covered the complex interplay of the public and private sectors, and the intricacies of national decision-making.

Each year, the award is presented to a journalist whose work, in either official language, provides insights into the policy-making process in Canada, and explains to Canadians how changes in public policy affect their individual well-being and collective economic progress. A cash prize is also awarded.


2010 Emerging Leaders Award:

Gabriel Bran Lopez

Gabriel Bran Lopez
Executive Director
Youth Fusion

The Forum is eager to play a role in encouraging young Canadians to become involved in the public policy process and the public arena. This may include participation in social enterprises and/or initiatives which contribute to public engagement and good governance.

In 2005, the Public Policy Forum established an annual award for emerging leaders to recognize the contributions of young Canadians who personify leadership in the area of public policy and civic discourse. Recipients of the Emerging Leaders Award are in the early stages of their career and demonstrate exceptional initiative and commitment to the principles of public service. This annual award is sponsored by TD Bank Group.


For more information, please visit the Testimonial Dinner page.

For further information, please contact Kelly Cyr.


Our sponsors:            

Research in Motion

Manulife Financial

Direct Energy GE Canada The Globe & Mail


CN Open Text TD Bank Financial Group
CIBC Enbridge Union Gas